Who is the God of T20 Cricket? A Comparison Between Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma

T20 cricket is the shortest and most explosive format of the game, where batsmen have to score runs at a rapid pace and entertain the crowd with their power and skill. T20 cricket has produced many great players who have excelled in this format and made their mark on the history of the game. However, two players stand out among the rest as the contenders for the title of the God of T20 cricket: Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma. Both these players have dominated T20 cricket at the international and franchise level, and have scored tons of runs and centuries in this format. But who is the God of T20 cricket? Let us compare these two legends and find out.

Chris Gayle: The Universe Boss

Chris Gayle, who scored 14,562 runs in 463 T20s, is the leading run-scorer in the format. He is also the only batter to hit more than 1,000 sixes in this format. He was the first cricketer to surpass the 10,000 mark in T20s after representing various franchises across the globe. While no other cricketer has scored 10 centuries in T20s, Gayle alone has 22 maximums to his credit. The West Indian legend is widely regarded as the greatest T20 cricketer of all-time and is widely hailed as the God of T20 cricket.

Gayle has also been very successful at the international level in the shortest format. He was an integral part of the West Indies team that won two ICC T20 World Cups in 2012 and 2016. Gayle also scored the first-ever century in T20 Internationals during the opening match of the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 against South Africa. He has scored 1,833 runs in 62 T20Is, making him the fourth highest run-scorer in this format.

Gayle’s most celebrated spell in this format was with Team Bangalore in Indian T20 League. After joining the franchise in 2011, he scored a century on debut against Kolkata and went on to win the Orange Cap for most runs during that season. He followed it up with another Orange Cap during the next season of the Indian T20 League with 733 runs in 15 matches. Gayle scored 3,163 runs in 85 matches for Bangalore and overall, he scored 4,965 runs in 142 matches in the Indian T20 League, making him the seventh highest run-scorer in the tournament. He also made his highest score of an unbeaten 175 while with Bangalore in 2013.

Read more about ICC World Cup 2023 In India

Rohit Sharma: The Hitman

Rohit Sharma is the second highest run-scorer in T20I history with 3,853 runs in 148 matches. He is also the only cricketer to hit four T20I centuries and leads the list of most sixes in this format, with 182 sixes to his credit. He is hailed as the God of T20 cricket in India for his accomplishments at the international and franchise level.

Rohit Sharma has been a key member of the Indian team that has been one of the best teams in T20 cricket. He has played many match-winning innings for India and has been a consistent performer in this format. He was also part of the Indian team that won the inaugural ICC T20 World Cup in 2007 and reached the final of the ICC T20 World Cup in 2014. He also holds the record for the fastest century in T20I cricket – it took him just 17 balls against South Africa at Johannesburg in 2015.

Rohit Sharma has also steered Team Mumbai to five Indian T20 League titles – in 2013, 2015, 2017, 2019 and 2020. He is the third highest run-scorer in the tournament with 5,764 runs in 221 matches and is also the only player to be part of six championship winning teams (five times with Mumbai, once with Hyderabad in 2009). He has scored one century and forty half-centuries in this tournament.


Both Chris Gayle and Rohit Sharma are phenomenal players who have mastered T20 cricket and have achieved many records and milestones in this format. They have entertained millions of fans with their batting prowess and have been instrumental for their teams’ success. However, if we have to choose one player as the God of T20 cricket, then we have to give a slight edge to Chris Gayle over Rohit Sharma. The reason is that Gayle has been more dominant and consistent in this format across different leagues and conditions. He has scored more runs, centuries, and sixes than Rohit Sharma in T20 cricket and has a higher strike rate and average as well. Gayle has also been more influential in winning trophies for his teams, especially in the ICC T20 World Cups. Therefore, we can conclude that Chris Gayle is the God of T20 cricket, while Rohit Sharma is the God of T20 cricket in India.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button