SKMU: A Premier University in the Santhal Parganas Region

SKMU, or Sido Kanhu Murmu University, is a public university located in the Santhal Parganas region of Jharkhand state in eastern India. It was established in 1992 by an act of Bihar Legislative Assembly and named after the legendary Santhal leaders Sido Murmu and Kanhu Murmu, who led the Santhal rebellion against the British colonial rule in 1855. The university has its headquarters at Dumka, the second capital of Jharkhand, and offers various undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral programs in arts, science, commerce, education, law, and engineering. In this blog post, we will explore some of the features and achievements of SKMU and how it contributes to the academic and social development of the region.

Vision and Mission of SKMU

The vision of SKMU is to be a center of excellence in higher education and research, catering to the diverse needs and aspirations of the students and the society. The mission of SKMU is to:

  • Provide quality education and training to the students in various disciplines and fields of study
  • Promote research and innovation in emerging areas of knowledge and technology
  • Foster a culture of academic excellence, social responsibility, and ethical values
  • Develop human resources and skills for the socio-economic development of the region and the nation
  • Preserve and promote the rich cultural heritage and linguistic diversity of the region

Academic Programs and Departments of SKMU

SKMU offers various academic programs and degrees at the undergraduate, postgraduate, and doctoral levels. The university has 13 departments under the faculties of arts, science, commerce, education, law, and engineering. The departments are:

  • Department of Anthropology
  • Department of Bengali
  • Department of Botany
  • Department of Chemistry
  • Department of Commerce
  • Department of Economics
  • Department of Education
  • Department of English
  • Department of Geography
  • Department of Hindi
  • Department of History
  • Department of Mathematics
  • Department of Philosophy
  • Department of Physics
  • Department of Political Science
  • Department of Psychology
  • Department of Santali
  • Department of Sociology
  • Department of Urdu
  • Department of Zoology
  • Department of Law
  • Department of Engineering

The university also offers various self-financed and vocational courses, such as BBA, BCA, MBA, MCA, BLIS, MLIS, PGDCA, etc. The university follows the semester system and the choice based credit system (CBCS) for its academic programs.

Affiliated Colleges and Institutions of SKMU

SKMU has 15 constituent colleges and 13 affiliated colleges under its jurisdiction. The constituent colleges are:

  • A.N. College, Dumka
  • B.S.K. College, Barharwa
  • Deoghar College, Deoghar
  • Godda College, Godda
  • Jamtara College, Jamtara
  • K.K.M. College, Pakur
  • M.G. College, Raneshwar
  • Millat College, Parsa
  • R.S.P. College, Jarmundi
  • R.S. More College, Govindpur
  • S.P. College, Dumka
  • S.P. Mahila College, Dumka
  • Sahibganj College, Sahibganj
  • Santhal Pargana College, Dumka
  • Shikaripara College, Shikaripara

The affiliated colleges are:

  • A.S. College, Deoghar
  • B.L.N.L. Bohra College, Rajmahal
  • B.N. Jha College, Okni
  • B.R.K. College, Barhait
  • B.S.A. Mahila College, Barharwa
  • B.S.K. College, Littipara
  • B.S.S. Mahila College, Barharwa
  • J.J.S. College, Mihijam
  • M.L.T. College, Sahibganj
  • Mahila College, Godda
  • R.K. Mahila College, Rajmahal
  • S.B.S.S.P.S.J. College, Pathargama
  • S.P.D. College, Andharia

The university also has a number of recognized research centers and institutes, such as:

  • Santal Academy, Dumka
  • Centre for Tribal and Regional Languages, Dumka
  • Centre for Women Studies, Dumka
  • Centre for Environmental Studies, Dumka
  • Centre for Biotechnology, Dumka
  • Centre for Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Dumka
  • Centre for Yoga and Naturopathy, Dumka
  • Centre for Disaster Management, Dumka
  • Centre for Rural Development, Dumka
  • Centre for Social Work, Dumka
  • Centre for Journalism and Mass Communication, Dumka
  • Centre for Computer Science and Information Technology, Dumka
  • Centre for Library and Information Science, Dumka

Infrastructure and Facilities of SKMU

SKMU has a sprawling campus of 365 acres in Dumka, with a scenic and serene environment. The university has a well-equipped central library, with over 50,000 books, journals, and e-resources. The university also has a digital library, with access to various online databases and repositories. The university has a state-of-the-art computer center, with high-speed internet connectivity and Wi-Fi facility. The university has a modern auditorium, with a seating capacity of 500 people. The university has a well-maintained sports complex, with facilities for various indoor and outdoor games and sports. The university has a health center, with a qualified doctor and a nurse. The university has a guest house, with comfortable rooms and amenities. The university has a cafeteria, with hygienic and affordable food. The university has a bank, a post office, and a cooperative store on the campus. The university has a botanical garden, a herbal garden, and a medicinal plant nursery on the campus. The university has a solar power plant, a rainwater harvesting system, and a waste management system on the campus.

Achievements and Awards of SKMU

SKMU has achieved many milestones and accolades in the field of higher education and research. Some of the notable achievements and awards of SKMU are:

  • SKMU has been accredited by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) with a B+ grade in 2017.
  • SKMU has been recognized by the University Grants Commission (UGC) under sections 2(f) and 12(B) of the UGC Act, 1956.
  • SKMU has been ranked among the top 200 universities in India by the National Institutional Ranking Framework (NIRF) in 2020.
  • SKMU has been awarded the Best University in Jharkhand by the India Today Group in 2019.
  • SKMU has been conferred the Rajiv Gandhi National Quality Award by the Bureau of Indian Standards in 2018.
  • SKMU has been awarded the Best Green Campus Award by the Association of Indian Universities in 2017.
  • SKMU has been awarded the Best Research University Award by the Indian Council of Social Science Research in 2016.


SKMU is a premier university in the Santhal Parganas region of Jharkhand, offering quality education and research in various disciplines and fields of study. The university has a rich history, a vibrant culture, and a dynamic vision. The university has a dedicated faculty, a talented student community, and a supportive administration. The university has a well-developed infrastructure, a range of facilities, and a green campus. The university has achieved many laurels and recognition in the national and international arena. SKMU is a university that strives to fulfill the dreams and aspirations of the students and the society.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button